Tom Waits new album: Bad as me

31-08-2011 @ 21:57

Throughout his career, Tom Waits has created milestone albums that serve both to refine the music that has come before, and to signal a new phase in his career: Rain Dogs and Mule Variations are both counted by fans as among these pivotal works. Now comes Bad As Me, his first studio album of all new music in seven years, which finds Tom Waits in possibly the finest voice of his career and at the height of his songwriting powers, working with a veteran team of gifted musicians and longtime co-writer/producer Kathleen Brennan.

From the opening horn-fueled chug of “Chicago,” to the closing barroom chorale of “New Year’s Eve,” Bad As Me displays the full career range of Waits’ songwriting, from beautiful ballads like “Last Leaf,” to the avant cinematic soundscape of “Hell Broke Luce,” a battlefront dispatch. On tracks like “Talking at the Same Time,” Waits shows off a supple falsetto, while on blues burners like “Raised Right Men” and the gospel tinged “Satisfied” he spits, stutters and howls. Like a good boxer, these songs are lean and mean, with strong hooks and tight running times. And there is a pervasive sense of players delighting in each other’s musical company that brings a feeling of loose joy even to the album’s saddest songs.
Bad As Me is a Tom Waits album for the ages.

Facts: Tom Waits is a global icon, to the countless young musicians who namecheck him as a major influence, and the press and critics who consistently list Tom as one of the most important artists in popular music.

Tom was inducted by Neil Young on March 20th 2011 into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The album cover, a photographic self-portrait by Waits, is an instant classic in a long line of classic Tom Waits’ album covers.

This is his first studio record since 2004’s Real Gone. In the interval he has released the 3-CD rarities collection Orphans (certified gold) and Glitter and Doom Live, a document of his sold-out 2008 tour.

Tom’s catalog has been sold over 6 million times worldwide.

TOM WAITS: "Bad as me"
release: 24.10.2011

Standard CD: 128.A054.020
Deluxe CD/book: 128.A054.024
LP: 128.054.010

genre: alt/rock, blues
label: anti
distr. Benelux: PIAS

01. Chicago - 2:15
02. Raised Right Men - 3:24
03. Talking At The Same Time - 4:13
04. Get Lost - 2:43
05. Face To The Highway - 3:44
06. Pay Me - 3:15
07. Back In The Crowd - 2:49
08. Bad As Me - 3:10
09. Kiss Me - 3:42
10. Satisfied - 4:07
11. Last Leaf - 2:56
12. Hell Broke Luce - 3:57
13. New Year's Eve - 4:28

Deluxe Disc 2 Tracklisting:
01. She Stole The Blush - 2:50
02. Tell Me - 3:42
03. After You Die - 2:47